Last week was a particularly stressful week. We were in the middle of an in vitro fertilization cycle. Extended family arrived in town and stayed overnight for a few days. They came the day after my very first embryo transfer. In the midst of a heat wave, I was cooking, cleaning, and entertaining. I thought I might have a breakdown, but I got through it by trying to manage my thoughts. I wrote down some calming phrases on an index card and repeated them to myself.

Here are some of the calming mantras I use:

“Messy and cheerful is better than perfect and bitchy.”
“Just do what you can.”
“What will be, will be.”
“I am relaxed.” (and I imagine floating on my back in water) “This is not life or death.”
“There’s plenty of time.”
“This too shall pass.”
“Let go and let God.”
“Oh well, next time I’ll do better.”
“Let it be.”
“Worse things can happen. At least it’s not…”
“In this moment, I am grateful for…”
“Do your best and let God do the rest.”
“Little by little I’ll get things done.”

What mantras calm you? Care to share?